Skip to main content

Area of expertise

Providing spaces for sharing between First Nations

First Nations Regional Waste Management Committee in Quebec

Improving waste management practices and knowledge transfer

The Regional Waste Management Committee was created in 2018 with the support of the AFNQL. It is composed of one or two members from each First Nation and meets three times a year. These meetings are intended to provide a forum for deliberation and action aimed at improving waste management (WM) practices and transferring WM knowledge. The committee also supports the implementation of new initiatives and helps to ensure that First Nations issues are heard by government authorities.

A committee by and for First Nations

For 2023–2024, the committee is working on a data collection tool and the modernization of Quebec’s deposit and selective collection systems.

Meeting minutes are available to First Nations on request.

Cathy Duguay: Environmental Project Leader, Abenaki Council of Odanak, W8banaki Nation
Clarisse Bernard: Project Officer, Environment Office, Abenaki Council of Wôlinak, W8banaki Nation
Matt Chevrier: Eco-Centre Administrator, Kebaowek First Nation, Algonquin Nation
Martine Bruneau: Director of Public Works and Housing, Abitibiwinni First Nation Council, Algonquin Nation
Ulric Ottawa: Public Works Coordinator, Manawan Atikamekw Council, Atikamekw Nation
Eddie Masty: Land and Environment Administrator, Cree Nation of Whapmagoostui, Cree Nation (Eeyou)
Kristy Franks: Environmental Advisor, Cree Nation Government, Cree Nation (Eeyou)
Claudia Gros-Louis: Environmental Management Technician, Huron-Wendat Nation Council (Wendake), Huron-Wendat Nation
Réal Jourdain: Foreman, Takuaikan Uashat mak Mani-Utenam, Innu Nation
Jeannot Mullen: Environmental Coordinator, Unamen Shipu Innu Council, Innu Nation
Marie Christine Roussel Gray: Environment & Sustainable Development Coordinator, Listuguj Mi’gmaq Government, Mi’gmaq Nation
Holly McComber: General Manager, Waste Management Department, Mohawk Council of Kahnawà:ke, Mohawk Nation
Eugene Nicholas: Environment Director, Project Co-Manager, Mohawk Council of Kanesatake, Mohawk Nation
William Shecanapish: Land and Environment Officer, Naskapi Nation of Kawawachikamach, Naskapi Nation

Want to know more about the Regional Waste Management Committee?